Friday, 24 May 2013

Secure your Facebook account with trusted contacts

| Friday, May 24, 2013 | |

Facebook accounts have great security features, but still users may get hacked, banned by Facebook or sometimes they loose their passwords because of saving their credentials with browsers auto save or in some rare cases while attempting to change their passwords. 

Along with this, the recovering options like email and phone number are not available or are out dates. So, you no longer have access to these. But still you can recover your account by creating a list of trusted accounts.

Facebook's security settings trusted contacts
Facebook Security Settings

How to add trusted contacts in Facebook?

  1. Log in into your Facebook account.
  2. Navigate to 'Security Settings' tab in 'Account Settings'.
  3. Click on 'Trusted Contacts'. Select 'Choose Trusted Contacts'.
  4. Choose your trusted contacts from your friend list and then click 'Confirm'. You are required to add 3 to 5 contacts.
  5. You will be prompted to enter your password to confirm trusted contacts list.
choose trusted contacts in Facebook
Facebook's choose trusted contacts
You can edit this list any time in future. Add new users or delete them.

How to recover Facebook account using trusted contacts?

reset your password in facebook
Reset Your Password
  1. From Facebook homepage click 'Forgot your password' or when you'll get the wrong password error you can select 'forgot your password' from there.
  2. You'll be asked to enter an email address or phone number. Enter your alternative email or just enter any valid looking email address. It is not required in the process.
  3. In the next step ask your trusted contacts to access facebook.com/recover. They will receive your recovery codes. You are required to collect them over phone by calling your trusted contacts.
  4. Enter these codes to access your account.
trusted contacts password recovery Facebook
Ask Your Trusted Contacts
NOTE- Don't make unnecessary users or un-trusted users your 'trusted contacts' in Facebook. They will receive notification that you have added them as your 'trusted contact'. This security feature will get misused.
Related Posts with Thumbnails

No comments:

Post a comment